On My Way to 50

7 Jul

There’s going to be a lot of math in this post. Just a heads up. (UPDATE: I changed my mind. I was going to break down all the averages and totals and stuff for the #summerthrowdown tally sheet. And then I decided against all that math.)

In my #SummerThrowdown Throws Down at Halftime post, I mentioned that I’m approaching the second half of the challenge with a goal: to read more than 50 books. This could mean reading 50.25 or 130 books. As long as my final tally is over 50, I’ll be happy. The number itself is arbitrary. I’m not really sure why I picked 50 instead of 30 or 70. Fifty seemed like a reasonable number.

In my drive to reach this goal – and expand my repertoire – I have been visiting the local public library. I’ve checked out young adult books, audio books, graphic novels, comics, novels in verse, juvenile fiction, and even a few picture books.

On Tuesday I grabbed (among others):

If I Stay by Gale Forman on audiobook – young adult. Sad. I’ve been listening in the car on my commute. I’m tired of books that make me cry. I’ll be finishing it on my way home. I hope she stays. (UPDATE: I won’t spoil the ending, but it definitely made me cry on my way home. Great read.)

Owl at Home by Arnold Lobel – childrens. I read this to my four-year-old brother. He was so excited that Owl had an upstairs, downstairs, and fireplace just like he does. I did need to clarify pea soup for him – he was thinking “like when you go to the bathroom” kind of pea soup. Oops.

Love is a Many Trousered Thing by Louise Rennison – young adult. I absolutely love this series. I’ve been hooked since the original Angus, Thongs, & Full-Frontal Snogging hit the shelves. Ms. Rennison never fails to crack me up with Georgia Nicolson’s adventures.

William’s Midsummer Dreams by Zilpha Keatly Snyder – young adult. William has been away from the Baggetts (his birth family) and is now off to play Puck in a summer production of Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” He must deal with a rival, not-so-secret crush, and his fear of the Baggetts. A story of a teen’s courage in facing his fears.

And some of the titles I snagged Thursday:

BABYMOUSE – Jennifer & Matthew Holm – Juvenile GA – needs no introduction! Reading through the series and am looking forward to BABYMOUSE for President (#16) which comes out in three days!

Stone Rabbit: Deep Space Disco by Erik Craddock – Juvenile GA: A bit too much for me and not particularly my cup of tea, but interesting nonetheless. I’m sure it’ll make some 11 year old boy very happy.

Then I took a very lovely Tweeter’s advice and got some novels in verse. That’s going okay. Definitely different. I’m trying to look at them not from the perspective as a reader, but that of a teacher. How can I use these in class? I’d love to incorporate one in a genre lesson. We shall see!

And of course, Nursery Rhyme Comics: 50 Timeless Rhymes from 50 Celebrated Cartoonists – Ed. Chris Duffy – Juvenile. So awesome. I shared this with some of my cohort. The artists’ interpretations of the nursery rhymes are hilarious.

Anyway…As of press time I have read 24.25 books. So, only 26 to go (to surpass 50)  (and eleven days remaining)! Today I’ve read 0.5 and I’m on track to read an additional 2.75 tonight. Holla! I have a few half-post-drafts saved for some of the books I wanted to review. So, just wanted to kind of log some of the stuff I’ve been reading. I hit the library again today (third time this week) and came home with a bunch of BABYMOUSE and other graphic novels as well as picture books to read with Dan.

Check the #summerthrowdown progress sheet here!

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

